The Lanarkshire Support Group 1st sessionWelcome to our support group page. This service brings together patients, family members and recent past carers in a social setting to exchange information and provide support to one another.  We will occasionally have guest speakers who will deliver talks on subjects which might be of interest to the group.

The support groups are designed to be informal and as such we don’t have group discussions, instead we encourage attendees to talk to one another.

There are  currently groups set up in Ayrshire, Glasgow, Forth Valley, Lanarkshire, Edinburgh & Lothian, Fife,  Tayside and Highland.  Two new groups have been added  for 2016 in Aberdeenshire and Dumfries & Galloway.

At every session we will have either an MND Scotland staff member or an MND Scotland representative who will make you feel welcome and introduce you to the other attendees.

The groups meet on a bi-monthly basis for light refreshments.  Anyone affected by the condition is welcome to attend any of the sessions which are free.

If you wish further information or would like to attend a session it would be appreciated if you contact Dawn Hamilton on 0141 332 3903 or dawn [dot] hamilton [at] mndscotland [dot] org [dot] uk

Meeting details


This is a new group meeting in Pittodrie Stadium, Pittodrie Road, Aberdeen AB24 5QH within the Legends Lounge from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates 2016

  • Monday 1 February
  • Monday 11 April
  • Monday 6 June
  • Monday 29 August
  • Monday 31 October


The group meets in the Gailes Hotel, Marine Drive, Irvine KA11 5AE from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Wednesday 20 January
  • Wednesday 16 March
  • Wednesday 11 May
  • Wednesday 13 July
  • Wednesday 12 October

Dumfries & Galloway

This is a new group meeting in the Cairndale Hotel, English Street, Dumfries DG1 2DF within the separate building at the Park House entrance in front of the car park from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Friday 15 January
  • Friday 4 March
  • Friday 20 May
  • Friday 1 July
  • Friday 21 October


The group meet in the Bentley Hotel, 19 High Road, Motherwell ML1 3HU from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Wednesday 27 January
  • Wednesday 2 March
  • Wednesday 4 May
  • Wednesday 6 July
  • Wednesday 5 October


The group meet at Ibrox Football Stadium, 150 Edmiston Drive, Glasgow G51 2XD, in the Morton Suite situated at the rear of the building from 6.30pm – 8.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Wednesday 3 February
  • Wednesday 6 April
  • Wednesday 1 June
  • Wednesday 3 August
  • Wednesday 16 November

Forth Valley

The group meet at the Grange Manor, Glensburgh, Grangemouth FK3 8XJ from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Thursday 18 February
  • Thursday 21 April
  • Thursday 16 June
  • Thursday 18 August
  • Thursday 3 November

Edinburgh and Lothian

This group  meet at The Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, 100 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NP  from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016 

  • Monday 18 January
  • Monday 14 March
  • Monday 16 May
  • Monday 25 July
  • Monday 24 October


The group will meet at Carnegie Conference Centre, Halbeath Road, Dunfermline, KY11 8DY from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Tuesday 23 February
  • Tuesday 26 April
  • Tuesday 21 June
  • Tuesday 23 August
  • Tuesday 8 November


This group meets at St Johnstone Football Club, McDiarmid Park, Crieff Road, Perth PH1 2SJ from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Tuesday 26 January
  • Tuesday 22 March
  • Tuesday 24 May
  • Tuesday 19 July
  • Tuesday 18 October


This group meets at Kingsmills Hotel, Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP from 12.30pm – 2.30pm

Dates for 2016

  • Thursday 11 February
  • Thursday 14 April
  • Thursday 23 June
  • Thursday 11 August
  • Thursday 10 November