General Election 2019 Manifesto

It's time to #Scrap6Months for people living with terminal illnesses.

Let's #Scrap6Months

Social security provides a much needed safety net for people, including those with MND.  Most people with the illness will have to give up work and access social security benefits such as Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and Employment Support Allowance (ESA). 

Under the current UK benefits system, people have to prove they have less than 6 months left to live to be fast-tracked for their benefits.  However, this rule excludes many people with MND because it is a complex and unpredictable terminal illness. 

As a result, some with this devastating illness, which has an average life expectancy from diagnosis of just 18 months, never receive the benefits they are entitled to. 

MND Scotland and Marie Curie successfully campaigned to have this rule changed in Scotland meaning that when the benefits devolved to Scotland are delivered, the 6 month rule will no longer apply. 

However, some benefits accessed by people with MND (such as Universal Credit) will continue to be administered by the DWP. For those benefits, people with a terminal illness will still need to prove they have just 6 months left to live.  This is unfair and will create a problematic two-tier system in Scotland. 

MND Scotland called on all candidates to:

Commit to scrap the 6-month rule so that those with a terminal illness in Scotland can be fast tracked for the benefits they urgently need, and prevent a 2-tier system from being created in Scotland.

Thank you for supporting our campaign - the action is now closed.

Who pledged their support?

The Scottish National Party (SNP) pledged its support to scrap the '6-month rule' in their election manifesto. The Scottish Liberal Democrats also pledged its support to scrap the '6-month rule'.

As of polling day (Thursday 12th December) the following individual candidates have pledged their support.

Aberdeen North

  • Kirsty Blackman (SNP)
  • Ryan Houghton (Scottish Conservatives)

Aberdeen South

  • Douglas Lumsden (Scottish Conservatives)
  • Steven Flynn (SNP)
  • Ian Yuill (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Airdrie and Shotts

  • Neil Gray (SNP)
  • Helen McFarlane (Scottish Labour)


  • Monique Miller (Scottish Labour)
  • Ben Lawrie (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Argyll and Bute

  • Alan Reid (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Rhea Barnes (Scottish Labour)

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

  • Duncan Townson (Scottish Labour)
  • Allan Dorans (SNP)

Banff and Buchan

  • Alison Smith (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Paul Robertson (SNP)

Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

  • John Lamont (Scottish Conservatives)

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

No pledges from this seat at present

Central Ayrshire

No pledges from this seat at present

Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill

No pledges from this seat at present

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

  • Stuart McDonald (SNP)
  • James McPhilemy (Scottish Labour)

Dumfries and Galloway

  • Ted Thompson (Scottish Labour)

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale

  • Nick Chrisholm (Scottish Labour)

Dundee East

No pledges from this seat at present

Dundee West

  • Chris Law (SNP)

Dunfermline and West Fife

  • Cara Hilton (Scottish Labour)
  • Douglas Chapman (SNP)
  • Rebecca Bell (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Mags Hall (Scottish Green Party)

East Dunbartonshire

  • Amy Callaghan (SNP)
  • Callum McNally (Scottish Labour)

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow

  • Lisa Cameron (SNP)
  • Monique McAdams (Scottish Labour)

East Lothian

No pledges from this seat at present

East Renfrewshire

  • Kristen Oswald (SNP)

Edinburgh East

  • Eleanor Price (Scottish Conservatives)
  • Jill Reilly (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Edinburgh North and Leith

  • Heather Astbury (Renew Party)
  • Gordon Munro (Scottish Labour)
  • Deidre Brock (SNP)
  • Steve Burgess (Scottish Green Party)

Edinburgh South

  • Ian Murray (Scottish Labour)
  • Catriona MacDonald (SNP)
  • Kate Nevens (Scottish Green Party)

Edinburgh South West

  • Joanna Cherry (SNP)

Edinburgh West

  • Sarah Masson (SNP)
  • Elaine Gunn (Scottish Green Party)
  • Christine Jardine (Scottish Liberal Democrats)


No pledges from this seat at present

Glasgow Central

  • Faten Hameed (Scottish Labour)
  • Alison Thewliss (SNP)

Glasgow East

No pledges from this seat at present

Glasgow North

  • Paul Sweeney (Scottish Labour)

Glasgow North East

  • Nicholas Moohan (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Glasgow North West

  • Patricia Ferguson (Scottish Labour)

Glasgow South

  • Stewart McDonald – Glasgow South (SNP)

Glasgow South West

No pledges from this seat at present


  • Pat Egan (Scottish Labour)
  • Victor Farrell (Brexit Party)


  • Richard Thomson (SNP)
  • James Oates (Scottish Liberal Democrats)


No pledges from this seat at present

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

  • Lewis Whyte (Scottish Labour)

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

  • Kevin McGregor (Scottish Labour)

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath

No pledges from this seat at present

Lanark and Hamilton East

  • Angela Crawley (SNP)
  • Shona Haslam (Scottish Conservatives)
  • Jane Packard (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Linlithgow and East Falkirk

  • Martyn Day (SNP)


  • Damian Timson (Scottish Conservatives)
  • Charles Dundas (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Cameron Glasgow (Scottish Labour)


  • Steven Arrundale (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Owen Thompson (SNP)


  • Fiona Campbell Trevor (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Laura Mitchell (SNP)

Motherwell and Wishaw

  • Christopher Wilson (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Na h-Eileanan an Iar (Western Isles)

  • Alison MacCorquodale (Scottish Labour)

North Ayrshire and Arran

  • Patricia Gibson (SNP)

North East Fife

  • Wendy Chamberlain (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Ochil and South Perthshire

  • John Nicolson (SNP)

Orkney and Shetland

  • Alistair Carmichael (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • Robert Leslie (SNP)

Paisley and Renfrewshire North

  • Ross Stalker (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Paisley and Renfrewshire South

No pledges from this seat at present

Perth and North Perthshire

  • Angela Bretherton (Scottish Labour)
  • Pete Wishart (SNP)
  • Stuart Powell (Brexit Party)

Ross, Skye and Lochaber

No pledges from this seat at present

Rutherglen and Hamilton West

No pledges from this seat at present


No pledges from this seat at present

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

  • Fergus Mutch (SNP)
  • Patrick Coffield (Scottish Labour)

West Dunbartonshire

No pledges from this seat at present


Even if one of your local candidates has pledged thier support, we need to keep-up the momentum so we can reach all of the candidates standing in your area. If you haven't already, please contact your candidates in a few easy steps.