Research Committee

A list of MND Scotland's Research Committee members.

Our Research Committee is responsible for peer review and setting MND Scotland's research strategy, amongst other responsibilities.

If you would like to get in touch with us to discuss any research matters, please contact our Research and Education Officer, Steven Karlsson-Brown, at or call us on 0141 332 3903.

Prof. Catherine Abbott

Prof. Catherine Abbott (Email)

Committee Chair

Professor Abbott comes from a background specialising in genetics and molecular biology, with a particular interest in neurodegeneration. Cathy has recently been developing a new model which can be used for testing MND treatments.

Prof. Scott Bryson

Prof. Scott Bryson (Email)

Committee Vice Chair

Professor Bryson has worked in a variety of roles in the pharmacy profession, both in Scotland and in Canada, including his position as Pharmacy Lead for Clinical Governance in NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.

Dr. George Gorrie

Dr. George Gorrie (Email)

Committee Member

Dr Gorrie is currently a consultant Neurologist at the Institute of Neurosciences in Glasgow. He has a particular interest in Motor Neurone Disease and leads the MND neurological service in Glasgow.

Dr. Julia Edgar

Dr. Julia Edgar (Email)

Committee Member

Dr. Edgar is a Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience at the University of Glasgow, with an interest in myelinated axons. Julia has received numerous awards by the MS Society and Medical Research Council to enable her to carry out her research.

Dr. Mandy Jackson

Dr. Mandy Jackson (Email)

Committee Member

Dr. Jackson's lab at the University of Edinburgh focuses on a group of inherited diseases (spinocerebellar ataxias) where patients lose the ability to coordinate their movement due to changes and deaths of cells within the cerebellum.

Dr. Judith Sleeman

Dr. Judith Sleeman (Email)

Committee Member

Dr. Sleeman has a background in cell biology and cellular and molecular pathology. She is currently a lecturer at the University of St Andrews where she is currently investigating whether protein changes are causing cellular damage in MND patients.

Prof. Simon Parson

Prof. Simon Parson (Email)

Committee Member

Professor Parson’s research is focused on Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), a young-onset form of MND. Simon gained his PhD in developmental neuroscience at the University of Edinburgh and was appointed Chair in Anatomy at the University of Aberdeen in 2013 and Regius Professor of Anatomy from 2018.